YMCA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good experience for camping
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraNovember 11, 2017
Volunteers for Camping in YMCA in Mumbai, India don't get paid. Individuals participate to learn about how camping is and to manage like a teamwork with others and manage things well. It gives you a lot of learning
Pros
free lunches n stay
Cons
long hours in the sun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Culture
Associate Director, Education Center (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiSeptember 30, 2017
The teams at different levels are very supportive. Various programs are running at the same time which provides ample opportunities for everyone to learn and grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kitty parties
Trainee Secretary (Former Employee) –  IndiaSeptember 2, 2017
I get in every work in starting stage is learner after that I get to experience for business time and teaching time and all of my work
and I feel happy
Pros
In food section I get free food
Cons
In marketing any bussiness time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience (Volunteering) in YMCA
Volunteer in ECC Camp (Former Employee) –  DelhiAugust 31, 2017
ECC is a summer camp organized by YMCA specially for the christian children to help them grow in faith and uplift their spirituality. It is a 5-6 days camp. A typical day at work includes a morning devotion and praise-and-worship, followed by counting the number of children each day and taking them to their respective classes. Teachers and the helping class volunteers teach the children (according to their level of understanding) different things from The Bible. Also, they make the children learn new gospel songs and prepare them for a group gospel song or an act which is presented by the children on the last day of the camp.

Working with children of different age groups is altogether a new learning experience. Also, The YMCA management is really helpful and supportive. The opinions of every volunteer are considered and the best ones are implemented.
Pros
Free Travel and refreshments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring experience for work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Ahmedabad, GujaratAugust 29, 2017
All work is done by one person.
Always shortage of staff.
Never understand the position of staff.
No proper equipment and software.
Lack of money for system upgrade and new equipment purchase.
Pros
free duty meal
Cons
long hours / overtime without payment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Carrier in YMCA
ACCOUNTANT (Former Employee) –  KeralaAugust 26, 2017
Friendly staff,that were ready to help if needed, opportunities to advance and succeed.

Limited career opportunities. Sometimes understaffed. Sometimes not possible to complete tasks in safe manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
head personal trainer (Former Employee) –  nagpurJuly 26, 2017
I have passion for fitness and body building. To love our work is all I need. Can do heavy weight training and also guide very well for weight management. I am expertise in fitness & nutrition diet management.
Pros
flexible work. can do other work in free time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Increase organisational skills for conducting cultureal,religious and sportes games activities
Assistant Secretary (Former Employee) –  Ernakulam KeralaJuly 26, 2017
Different types of organizational activities conducted.

Increase the skills for organizational ability

Implementing management actions on day to day basis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colonial work culture
Public Relations Officer (Former Employee) –  New DelhiJune 27, 2017
New Delhi YMCA is an NGO. The work involved Planning, developing and implementing .
Copy writing for ads, feature write-ups in magazines and newspapers.
To organise publicity, promotion and advertising for various YMCA units, projects and activities.
To develop, edit contents and produce publications of house journals/press releases, brochures, annual reports, newsletter and other printed promotional material. Writing and editing in-house magazine and official website. For awareness and publicity.
R strategies. Infrastructure was good.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Not open for new ideas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place
Tuition Teacher (Former Employee) –  Andheri west dn nagar link roaJune 21, 2017
Healthy environment good experience, good staff and students. Fine working hours and coordinative staff but the manager ceo is not fit to handle the place and salary issuez
Pros
Free lunch, free library
Cons
Management and salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive atmosphere at work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  indiaJune 13, 2017
My role included supporting designated program areas for the YMCA International in Pune- India. Some of my responsibilities were distributing program marketing and communication materials for the seminars and programs held at our venue by external businesses , assisting with fundraising efforts for various causes, data entry and phone support.
Pros
friendly staff and free meals
Cons
long hours and location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthy working environment, no pressures
Assistant (Current Employee) –  DelhiApril 17, 2017
everything is good here like no pressures for work, no long hours job,

Promotion Schemes are very low and salary increments are very less, I wanted to upgrade myself and want to learn new experiences.
Pros
god working environment, safety & security no long hours work
Cons
No promotion and salary increments are very less 6 days working is bit tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good institute
Visiting Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Delhi, DelhiApril 4, 2017
The most enjoyable part of this job is to teach students.
job culture is good , other faculty are very nice and supportive.Work timings are comfortable because being a visiting lecturer i just need to go for 2-3 hours in a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Development
Chief Executive Officer (Former Employee) –  Thiruvananthapuram, KeralaMarch 23, 2017
Had opportunity to train people of all age group. Facilitated students in achieving their professional goals. Had felt that I had transformed lives of few
Pros
Flexible time
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and caring
Documentation Executive (Former Employee) –  Ernakulam, KeralaJanuary 3, 2017
Letter drafting , update the accounts in hotlier, update the membership
Management is very good
Co-workers are very supportive
I enjoy my work at ymca
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new work idea develop in school
Computer Teacher (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraJanuary 2, 2017
new work idea for developing a job .such as mark register.all academic work done according to take as a student in a mind just like concept show in visualize
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a Good workplace
FLOOR SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiDecember 30, 2016
Taking care of all Public Areas. Looking after Auditorium and other meeting Halls. Complete maintenance of Checkout Rooms. Maintaining of Key Register. Assigning duties to junior workers. Preparation of Annual Budget of the House Keeping Department
Highly cooperative workers with a view that Work is Worship. The hardest part was to look after the entire YMCA Tourist Hostel when relievers are not present. The most enjoyable part is that workers are compensated for their extra long works by overtime payment
Pros
subsidiesed meals
Cons
Long Hours of working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very alot fun work
Senior Instructor Architectural Software's (Former Employee) –  Hyderabad, APOctober 31, 2015
i got very good things from here..i never feel bored to work in this institution,...i got very good friends from there...
Pros
good
Cons
30 mins
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YMCA Computer Academy (NIOS)
Chief Instructor (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, KAAugust 11, 2015
Very good were its was my first kick start to job carrier i was working here for 3yrs years has a instructor and I love teaching was my favorite role this was the place were I enjoyed a lot and very good students i had coming from colleges

I worked in YMCA with very less salary for 3yrs only to improve my knowledge and communication skills.

love to be part of YMCA unforgettable memories

Thank You YMCA
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with work
Programme Assistant (Current Employee) –  New Delhi, DLJune 16, 2015
The days started with routine office communication and jobs. I learnt liasoning with Govt Deptt and various embassies. At my time of leaving of job the company followed ISO standards which was a nice exposure to me where every activity was audited. My co-workers were good, co-operative and friendly. The hardest part of the job was in events one has to see that THE SHOW GOES ON. The most enjoyable part of the job was that there was an informal environment in the company.
Pros
Free snacks & meals at events and meetings
Cons
No specific working hours when the event was in progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 22,669 reviews
59,887
47,102
33,946
21,069
1665

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture