World Food Programme Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Programme policy office (Value chain specialist)
Programme policy office (Value chain specialist) (Former Employee) –  Nalae district, Luangnamtha province, Lao PDRMay 10, 2018
Assess the support needed of the farmers and provide guidance to the farmers on how to link up with markets.
Facilitate the link between the farmers and the permanent/mobile markets

it is good opportunity and good organization for working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was fun and felt great being part of such a big organisation
Enumerator (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  mutareApril 22, 2018
Household surveys and questionare admistration
laearnt how to relate with people at all levels
good working environment
some working conditions where challenging for axample accesiblity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International and dynamic workplace
Procurement Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rome, ItalyMarch 20, 2018
WFP is a dynamic and international workplace where people from all over the world come together in the effort to end world hunger. It was a wonderful experience and personally I was led by an exceptional manager.
Pros
benefits, fair leave
Cons
no maternity if you do not have a certain type of contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a challanging environment working in such context like Afghanistan while still enjoyed challanging tasks.
Programme Policy Officer (Former Employee) –  Velāyat-e KābolFebruary 23, 2018
WFP is a place where professional are working and is a challenging and competitive organization and each of the employ need to work hard. I personally considered WFP as one of the great agencies where I learnt a lot and also was able to practically apply my theories into practice.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Hard working and even working during weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment for work
Intern (Former Employee) –  KamplaFebruary 20, 2018
I used to work as an intern, to help with administration , organizing meetings, following up on district officials. I gained experience in the above mentioned areas.
Pros
Good security
Cons
Limited holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional yet fun to work
Field Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Kenya, Coast, Kilifi, Taita TavetaDecember 22, 2017
It was one of my best job experiences so far. I enjoyed working with a team that was collaborative. I learned alot on relief response and saving humanity.

I would very much like to go back and work with WFP so as to save lives and improve living standards of people in problems.

My most enjoyable part of the job was being in the field. Apart from work,each field trip was an adventure to beautiful scenery and different cultures.
Pros
Free lunch once in a while
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa boa, com otima motivacao aos trabalhadores
Monitor de Campo (Former Employee) –  Zambezia, MocambiqueNovember 20, 2017
A empresa foi excelente, boa colaboracao com a sua equipe e valoriza os seus trabalhadores,
Pros
Fornecimento de combustivel
Cons
Nao fornece refeicao
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing about workplace bullying
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Provincia di Roma, LazioOctober 3, 2017
There are so many wonderful employees in this organization, and they are doing outstanding work. It is so disappointing that the workplace culture in the infrastructure office of the headquarters is toxic beyond belief. Some bullies make life difficult for everyone else. I would never ever want to work in that office again no matter how much I was paid. The African staff are wonderful and they deserve to be supported by better management.
Pros
Staff gym, staff cafeteria, coffee machines, library
Cons
Workplace culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work zone
Assistant Monitoring (Current Employee) –  Zambezia - Gurue/IleSeptember 13, 2017
It is a great experience to be able to work in the field and personal skills you need. The work area is extensive and extensive covering 2 districts with a distance of over 150 km of Moto.
Cons
Simple Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn
Logistic officer (Current Employee) –  Ethiopia, Addis ababaSeptember 5, 2017
It is multicaltural environment and good place to learn from others, wel defind roles and responsibilities, and several staff benifties. Good managment and better working environment.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multicultural work environment
Short breaks (Former Employee) –  MutareJuly 13, 2017
A typical day would entail ensuring that field teams have departed in time, then respond to correspondence, attend meetings with government or partners, compile reports or following up any updates from the field or patrners
Pros
Working with partners brought diversity and excitement to the work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Admin and Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peshawar,PakistanJune 13, 2017
Always in a constant phase of emergency however the employees take it as normal work life.
Having iftari at office females leaving office late due to heavy work load and some make staff staying overnight in office and working all n8ght is not something that should surprise someone who works for WFP Peshawar office in order to make a difference in lives of those much needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is fun to work with rrm team
PROGRAMME ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  MaiduguriApril 26, 2017
The normal working days are monday to saturday
I leaned alot in wfp
The composition of management in wfp is standard
The workplace is nice nad colleaques are vary friendly
Pros
Lunchen is been provided to the office
Cons
The mgt. / Undss organised heatlh facilities where staff go for their check up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Business Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  MaiduguriApril 26, 2017
It was a privilege for me to be part of the United Nation in the small world of WFP, which gives me more experience about the Humanitarian Work and Meeting different people from different part of the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DIfferent
Budget and Programming Officer (Current Employee) –  Dakar, SenegalMarch 29, 2017
It is difficult to say. They are very limited opportunities. IT is more for people who would like to stay in the same position for a very long time. It all depends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WFP provides an international work environment with inspiring mission
Information Knowledge Management Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Rome ItalyFebruary 5, 2017
Every organization has its culture that is associated with pros and cons. Despite challenges, it is my privileged to work for WFP which fights to end world hunger.
Pros
Inspiring mission
Cons
Mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Programme Associate (Current Employee) –  NAJanuary 18, 2017
My typical data a work involves sitting down at my computer to do some data analysis, develop some questionnaires or follow-up with colleagues on data
Pros
Good working systems and softwares
Cons
Not enough staff resulting in huge workloads
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Programme Assistant -World Food Programme (Local staff)
Programme Associate (Former Employee) –  Kasulu, TanzaniaNovember 3, 2016
• Coordinated movement of food from the sources to the refugee camps
• Organized storage, handling and distribution of food to the intended beneficiaries.
• Coordinated monitoring food distributions to other nutritional programmes
• Managed data base and performed reporting task for the refugee operation.
Pros
work flexibility, mission, on job training and transfers
Cons
limited work development and advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exemple : Esprit d'equipe et surtout la communication entre personnel.
Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Mongo - TchadOctober 21, 2016
C'est un sentiment qui grandissait dans ma
perception du contexte professionnel, mais aussi privé , m'a poussé à
remettre en cause ma quotidienneté et chercher des nouveaux défis, des grandes envergures
! Voila la raison de s'engager.
Pros
Restauration gratuite pour le personnel.
Cons
abus d'autorité.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
world food programme is an organization you can work. I am really enjoying it.
Food Monitor Assistant (Current Employee) –  MekelleOctober 7, 2016
I mostly work at field and tried to support the needy people. I leaned working with people satisfies me and the most enjoyable part. I work with different stakeholders and create a good partnership with enable me to access and information that I need.
Pros
I like to work in any area
Cons
I tried to achieve the objective and strive to take more time at field and office: Short breaks, healthcare, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at World Food Programme. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 36 reviews
512
416
34
23
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture