Western Railway Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working places for people who dont like taking risks
Jr clerk (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraAugust 12, 2019
Jobs providing by them are really secured specially for people who dont like challenge in life.
They provide good balance in personal life and professional life.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Very lazy environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working , good knowledge
intern in braking system process of D.V (Former Employee) –  Vadodara, GujaratJune 16, 2019
It was good working there. More knowledgeable people with whom we were working . Always acceptable to our mistakes and improving it.always tried to correct in positive way and more always tried to succeed in manner.
Pros
Professional atmosphere
Cons
8 hrs shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and best management...
MOTORMAN (Former Employee) –  Churchgate, Mumbai, MaharashtraMarch 26, 2019
Best working from last 18 years at Western Railway, I am working as aloco pilot and presently working on MOTORMAN at Churchgate Western railway..but my personal reasons I want to join METRO as a train Operator near my home at Ahmedabad
Pros
Good working but personal reasons
Cons
Family shifted in Ahmedabad
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Depot Materials Supdt. (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraDecember 2, 2018
Great people to work with.
Fixed work hours and ample leaves provided.
Good for work life balance.
Good medical facilities and travel allowances along with travel concessions to any place in India
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solapur
Electrical Supervisor (Current Employee) –  MumbaiNovember 5, 2017
I need job for electrical supervisor
I am working in solapur construction company private limited company at working site quality officer and electrical supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
Internship Training (Former Employee) –  Mumbai Central, MaharashtraOctober 6, 2017
As an Intern, I was allowed to wear casual clothes. We were given intensive training of each department such as its functions and responsibilities. We were given an overview of how railway traffic was managed using wireless communications.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Platform to learn
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Rajkot, GujaratSeptember 7, 2017
It is a government organization and one of the largest in the world. You can work in any department in Indian Railways. But here no one will teach you, because no one is bothered all are government employees they don't even bother to know you. But if you will learn from yourself then you can work anywhere. Their operations, their management and everything is worth learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security and balanced work culture
Database Assistant (Current Employee) –  Churchgate MumbaiJune 22, 2017
It is a good platform to know about people, their requirements and their reactions to changes. It helps to know the market and culture. This organistation help to know how to manage funds to meet business and social requirements of a organisation. I learned to manage time and take decision during crisis condition, also to communicate with people and get things done from them
Pros
Work in broader terms
Cons
Too much incompetence and inactive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indian railway is life line of the nation
HEALTH AND MALARIA INSPECTOR (Former Employee) –  UDHANA,BANDRA ,VAPIMay 8, 2017
Worked for indian railway is proud thing for me,I enjoyed myself at work place and learn to take responsibility in difficult situation,sanitation of platform and tracks was challenging stuff for being a sanitary inspector.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i work at various places in Rqilway
Apprentice TCI (Current Employee) –  Mumbai, MHFebruary 3, 2015
i pass my work period at various places peacefully and nicely i get nice imaging in my duties i was very happy in job also i complied various type work in the duties
Was this review helpful?Yes 64No 16Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, MHJune 13, 2014
big company
good facility
enjoyable work
i enjoyed a lot in my internship
i like to work over here.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working but not fully satisfied
train controller (Current Employee) –  Bhavnagar, GJMarch 8, 2014
working honestly but no difference between worker and the player, can not enjoy job satisfaction.sometime work becomes boring.management is not interested to manage.co-workers are at average level.The hardest part of job is decision making.enjoying in some funny instances with colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
CONTRACT MEDICAL PRACTITIONER (Former Employee) –  Bandra, MHAugust 13, 2013
work was good lots of patient, good salary, good railway services
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
SECTION ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  VADODARA DIVISIONNovember 16, 2012
Good homely atmosphere. I did excellent job to maintain the train services for the public. And in turn by giving service to common people, I felt like giving service to humanity and also to god. It was like worshiping my god who is omnipresent and also satisfied with my job. I am highly delighted and graceful to western railways to give such nice opportunity to serve the nation.
Pros
everything is fine
Cons
no complaints.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most punctual railway.
Junior Engineer (Current Employee) –  SuratNovember 10, 2012
All the officials are very much serious about train punctuality.
All the technical staff are well trained.
World class training institutes like IRISET are available.
Staff welfare is some what neglected.
Talent is not appreciated.
The job of signal engineer is very challenging and enjoyable.
Worst thing is we are bounded for twenty four hours ,signal failure may happen at any time we have to attend it promptly without any delay.
Pros
free travelling facility.
Cons
no social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with job security
junior executive (Former Employee) –  mumbai centralJune 8, 2012
I learned how to work in a team and how to co-ordinate with other departments or your colleagues.

hardest part was to keep service record of almost 2000 employees upto date
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western Railway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 17 reviews
57
45
35
20
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
4.2Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.7Culture