NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF OCEANOGRAPHY Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraSeptember 4, 2017
Good atmosphere to do research in oceanography. I learned to understand the coastal processes, coastal management, and impact assessment studies through modeling and other techniques.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive place
Project Assistant-II (Current Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraMay 20, 2017
This is a place for research as it provides a good platform to showcase your skills and indulge in immense research. Besides, there is an added advantage of working on different topics at a time as one gets exposed to learn new things. Overall, its a best place for core research and great exposure around the world.
Pros
No restrictions for lab use
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn a lot.
Project Assistant-II (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraMarch 12, 2017
Worked as a part of team exploring and evaluating the relationships between the various parameters related to oceanography and also the biota present in the water bodies.
Pros
Field visits
Cons
Temporary post
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-operative, Interactive and Learning Evironment
Dissertation Project Student (Former Employee) –  GoaFebruary 7, 2017
All the labs were well Equipped with latest instruments. Research scholars working under my guide(scientist) were very kind and Helping and made the environment comfortable to work.
My guide was very motivating, helped me explore other ways if I didn't get the expected results. She drew the best out of her every student.
Overall experience of 6 months at NIO was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to nurture our scientific research abilities in oceanography
Senior Research Fellow (SRF) (Former Employee) –  Kochi, KeralaJanuary 18, 2017
A multi-disciplinary oceanographic research institute of international repute
Place where one can interact with world level scientists in oceanography.
Stepping stone to a career in oceanography.
We get to learn all oceanographic related research activities in India.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
PROJECT ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Kochi, KeralaAugust 25, 2016
good hand on experience on new and latest technologies and instruments. i learn new techniques which made me expertise in the field where i was working
Pros
good working environment
Cons
No permanent job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Project assistant -II (Former Employee) –  DONA PAULA, GOAAugust 10, 2016
Productive and fun. Good working environment and lab. More scientific work and good guidance. Good accomodation and cheap.good atmosphere. And specialy the place were it is located
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and lot of scope to learn
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  GOAOctober 14, 2015
Great work place for a fresher to start.
It's a company where an individual could grow in his profession.
Great people whom a person can consider as role model.
Pros
Lot of scope to learn new things
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice and pleasurable
Internship (Former Employee) –  GAJuly 30, 2015
The exposure i have got as an intern was really awesome. My guide shared his huge experience in this field with me. If i get the chance surely i would like to work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Project Associate I (Current Employee) –  Mumbai, MHJuly 14, 2015
Nice to work here. i am getting good experience. this institute is good to work. we can gain a more knowledge from this institute.
Mostly of good research work published from this institute. In world level its a good and reputed institute.
Pros
No
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is the best work place, where in we can gain knowledge and at the same time have lot of fun.
DST Fast Track Young Scientist (Current Employee) –  GAJune 9, 2015
After joining NIO I learned many things one of the most important thing is what are foraminifera and how are they useful in paleoclimatic studies. I further learned how to culture these organisms in laboratory and also studied effects of different ecological parameters, effect of different pollutants, effect of different gases etc. on these organisms. I participated in different oceanographic cruises. Presented my work in different conferences also both national and international. The hardest part of the job is that a lot of patience is required to do laboratory culturing of foraminifera.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a place of great opportunities, good for people who want to learn.
Project Assistant-II (Current Employee) –  dona paula, goaApril 24, 2015
fun place to work at. came in with a view to learn. great people here to guide you through each step. deals with the various aspects of the oceans surrounding us.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Senior Research Fellow (SRF) (Current Employee) –  Panaji, GADecember 29, 2014
I have learned lots of things here ,which is very helpful for my research carrier. I have learned how to plan for carrying out a lab experiment.Scientific writing,data interpretation,and use of laboratory equipments.
Pros
No
Cons
We work late night to complete lab work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working under well known scientists
project assistant (Current Employee) –  dona paula, goaDecember 11, 2014
i is a very great experience to work under well known scientist how has lots of experience on the subject of oceanography and climate change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scientifically stimulating place
Project Fellow (Former Employee) –  GoaNovember 2, 2014
I was part of marine biodiversity project. This place equipped me with valuable scientific experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good friendly environment
Senior project Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Mumbai, MHJune 29, 2014
Analysis of samples and report work .but it is a routine work no new think to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent working conditions
Project Assistant-III in Bio-organic (Former Employee) –  GAApril 22, 2014
satisfying job but no job security,
good learning experience
Pros
good job environment
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with a good advancement in research and development
Dissertation programme (Former Employee) –  Visakhapatnam , IndiaMarch 14, 2014
I am a dissertation programme and worked there as a volunteer for my academic dissertation.

Typically I am like a part-time employee.
A typical day at work would be to meet with my supervisor and team members to discuss changes and advances in the research, and next steps.

I learned a lot, including time management, positive attitude, resources management. There are people from various disciplines with varying levels of knowledge and there is always more to learn.

Although, I enjoy research a lot, there are times when we faced a dead-end and we don't have sufficient data to meet our variables. There are times when we thought the research is not going any further.
But the best part is that we finally got through it together. We successfully completed the research against all odds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for budding Scientist
Project Assistant level II (Former Employee) –  GAMarch 13, 2014
Great Environment for learning and personal development.
All the Scientist and team leaders are very encouraging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity to apply and develop skills
Project Assistant - ǁ (Current Employee) –  Kochi, KLJanuary 1, 2014
The Multidisciplinary environment enables us to learn new things and apply our skills in different ways.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF OCEANOGRAPHY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 41 reviews
510
423
36
21
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF OCEANOGRAPHY Reviews by Location