Michael Page Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Sales manager (Former Employee) –  Kuala LumpurJune 14, 2018
I am fast learner and able to communicate with all level of management, people person and always tackle new challenge. I have working experience more than 10 years as retail boutique fashion sports and hypermarket. I have Diploma in banking studies and multitasking. Able to start immediately with two weeks notice.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente de trabajo.
Consultor (Current Employee) –  Ciudad de México, D. F.June 1, 2018
La cultura de la empresa es excepcional, fomentan el trabajo en equipo y la creatividad.
La comunicación entre los empleados con los directivos es de fácil acceso.
Pros
Seguro de gastos médicos mayores
Cons
Horario laboral, salario bajo
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fuir
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Neuilly-sur-Seine (92)May 27, 2018
ATTENTION : ce message s’adresse à tous ceux qui ont une vraie carrière et dont la curiosité pousse chez Michel Page.
En entretien il est présenté une ambiance ou l’on travaille dur, mais on est passionné par ce que l’on fait et « on s’amuse » également. On vous dépeint aussi une autonomie dans le business, potentiellement un salaire « doublé » si vous vous investissez, et la possibilité d’évoluer en interne car même le DG était à votre place à un moment. On vous promet aussi une formation complète pour devenir efficace en 1 an.
 Beaucoup de faux, un peu de vrai et un peu de vrai et de faux.
Le vrai : on travaille dur. Attendez-vous à passer la porte et à repartir 12 à 13 heures plus tard. Vous pouvez faire une croix sur le sport ou toutes autres activités extra-professionnelles.
Le vrai-faux : Oui, tous les grands noms de la boite ont commencé en bas comme vous. Mais ils n’ont pas évolué « manager » par leur charisme ni leur capacité à encadrer, mais simplement car ce sont d’excellents commerciaux qui ont été capables d’alimenter des juniors en dossiers et ont un don pour le réseautage. Peu de chances que ça vous arrive.
Le faux : La formation n’est en fait qu’un examen continu sur plusieurs mois. On attend des objectifs de vous et vous êtes « KPIé » sur tout. Même si on n’attend pas de vous que vous « placiez » un candidat rapidement, vous serez objectivé sur à peu près tout ce qui constitue votre journée type. Réprimandes et pression pour celui qui ne s’en sort pas. Ils ont d’ailleurs mis en place une sorte d’examen de passage des 2 mois qui prend un travail préparatoire
  more... intensif mais n’est pas pris en compte en ce qu’il impacte sur vos autres objectifs.
Tout ce cirque a pour unique but de tester votre résilience et d’écarter les maillons faibles. Michael Page fonctionne sur le principe de la probabilité de masse : il estime que sur la totalité des recrues, au moins 10% accepteront, resteront et seront de bon commerciaux qui produiront du CA. La machine est bien rodée, vous faîtes parti à votre arrivée d’une promotion destinée à être écrémée.
Sur les 10% restant, j’estime que 90% partent avant 5 ans. Au bout de 3 ans chez Michael Page, on tient les murs et on fait les formations aux nouveaux.
A propos du salaire, vous ne le doublerez pas. Vous ne touchez qu’un pourcentage sur le CA que vous faîtes en plus de vos objectifs commerciaux, qui sont assez élevés pour ne pas vous noyer sous les primes. Estimez-vous heureux si vous rajoutez 5k€ à votre salaire de base. Le seul gagnant reste Michael Page, qui est sûr lui, de toucher de l’argent à chaque transaction. D’ailleurs ce fameux Michael est assez malin pour ne pas être obligé de partager ses petits bénéfices (mirobolant au passage, renseignez-vous) avec vous via les fameux participation / intéressement. Alors que le groupe compte près de 700 employés en France, il se transforme par un tour de passe-passe administratif en un consortium d’une multitude de sous filiales de moins de 50 personnes.
La bonne ambiance est elle aussi toute relative. Les sourires et éclats de rires sont en effet là. Mais la concurrence est rude : empiétez par mégarde sur le terrain de chasse de votre collègue et vous sentirez le baromètre tomber. Les bureaux en ultra open-space ne laissent aucune place à l’intimité. Impossible que votre collègue de gauche ou de droite, ni qui que ce soit qui passe dans le couloir d’ailleurs, ignore ce qu’il se passe sur votre écran. Tout aussi impossible de filer ou d’arriver à l’anglaise. Tout le monde est au courant de tout : l’auto-surveillance et l’auto flicage ne peuvent être mieux appliquées. Il est imposé de poser 1 RTT par mois sous peine de la perde, et il est également autorisé de faire du télétravail à partir de 6 mois. Risquez-y vous, et vos oreilles siffleront à la maison.
Michael Page est donc une machine à broyer de l’employés, elle essore cyniquement dans l’espoir de récupérer quelques euros, et ne s’empêche pas de dormir pour le nombre de dépressions et la fatigue qu’elle engendre : pas d’états d’âme pour les carrières stoppées dans de vrais entreprises pour la rejoindre.
1 seul conseil : gardez vos distances.
  less
Pros
Beaux locaux
Cons
Tout le reste
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to progress if your face doesn't fit
Consultant (Former Employee) –  NorthMay 15, 2018
Great training, well known firm with a good client base. Can be extremely "cliquey" and certain people are clearly favoured for a fast track to management.

Commission is discretionary - and nobody really has any idea how it's worked out.

Management capability depends totally on which team you join unfortunately, and there is not really much consistency between managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will not pay you on time
Temporary Employee (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 7, 2018
Inefficiency from the UK to NY. Will give you the runaround regarding payment. You will have to chase them to ensure that your payment comes in on time... and it still won't come in on time. You'll additionally be fed lies regarding a 'faulty system' which only affects 10 employees and a lack of petty cash in their NY office... Do not work here if you actually need the money which is rightfully yours.
Cons
untimely pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Official response from Michael Page
May 10, 2018

The sustainability of our business relies on our candidates. Whether we are making advisements or paying our temps, it is of the utmost importance for us to deliver on everything we promise. That being said, I apologize if there has been an error with payroll, so please contact me directly so we can ensure the problem is solved. No company is impervious to technical glitches regardless of size. Furthermore, PageGroup Consultants will never force a candidate to take a job – it is ultimately the candidates prerogative to accept or decline the job offers. Thank you. Richard Vickers, Regional Managing Director.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lingkungan kerja yang baik dan roduktif
Manager (Current Employee) –  Sumatera UtaraMay 1, 2018
Di dalam kerja untuk meraih sukses bukan hanya di ukur dari besar salary, namun bila kita bisa produktif berkreasi untuk pengembangan pribadi kita. Kesejahteraan karyawan bisa lebih berharga melalui apresiasi prestasi kerja.
Pros
Bisa berkreasi lebih banyak
Cons
Istirahat' yg sedikit
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently working
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Elmsford, NYApril 22, 2018
I can't give a full review at this time. I have been paid when my time has been put in correctly. Michael Page did find me a job quickly, and close to my home.
Pros
I received a job
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evaluation globale de cette entité
Collaborateur (Former Employee) –  St denisMarch 29, 2018
Mauvaise ambiance
Beaucoup d'heures
Aucune évolution personnelle
Assistante absente et non professionnelle
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard play hard
Estagiária de Banking (Former Employee) –  Vila Olímpia, SPMarch 26, 2018
Grande escola para pessoas que querem iniciar em recrutamento e seleçao
Pros
clima organizacional
Cons
estabilidade, alto turn over
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challenging
Recruitment officer (Current Employee) –  Hauts-de-SeineMarch 25, 2018
I am in charge of helping consultants by headhunting potential candidates. My work is to source CVs on job boards and LinkedIn and then to call them in order to know if they could be interested in a new job. I meet candidates and report to consultants and clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level job. All depends on your team
Employee (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 21, 2018
You are expected to be successful very quickly. However, they have invested a lot in training and development so there are a lot of eyes on you to perform.
Pros
straight forward promotion targets
Cons
Micromanagement and "discretionary" bonus structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a sales job
Consultant (Current Employee) –  UKMarch 19, 2018
Guess this is the industry maybe but MP is very much a sales job. All about the numbers and as long as you close the job they are happy.

Short term clients are better than the long term once and as long as you find any candidate they are happy. All about numbers in this company but ok money to be made
Pros
Ok money
Cons
Lying to clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely productive work experience
Recruitment Researcher (Former Employee) –  DubaiMarch 17, 2018
The company basically works on the culture of work hard and party harder. it was a really good learning experience and the work atmosphere was always a lot of fun. out of all the experiences i've had i learned the most with this company. The managers really train the interns well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pessimo clima e cultura
Business Consultant (Former Employee) –  São Paulo, SPMarch 7, 2018
vendem um sonho que não existe para contratar consultores...
canibalismo interno
Pros
MBA de vendas (ciclo todo)
Cons
cultura e work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company with a lot of opportunities
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mexico CityFebruary 16, 2018
Learn team work
Try to do my best in any responsibility that I have in charge.
Found a second plan before they ask me for it
Do my extra mile all months and try to be better every month
Create new solutions or ways to improve the results
Pros
Compensations
Cons
Work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interviewed with this company for a recruiter role with them and they were rude and unprofessional.
Associate (Former Employee) –  SydneyFebruary 16, 2018
Their new model seems to be to churn out as many applicants into jobs as possible and they seem to have lost touch with 'care' in who they are putting in different roles.
Pros
Central Office
Cons
Long work hours/ toxic environment 2 different staff advised
Was this review helpful?Yes 28NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Environment
Recruitment Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 16, 2018
Great pay but long hours and very demanding sales culture. You are required to sell the jobs to any qualified candidate regardless if they are a good fit or if it is what they are looking for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Official response from Michael Page
February 26, 2018

At PageGroup, we take a consultative approach. A significant element of our job is to assist our candidates in reaching their fullest potentials, and this may come in the form of providing career advice as well as guiding them towards jobs they may not have originally envisioned for themselves. We are extremely transparent, and ultimately it is the candidate’s prerogative to communicate with us should they ever wish to steer the job search in a different direction. As we are in the business of establishing and maintaining long-term relationships, we strive to create a dynamic that keeps our candidates and clients coming back to work with us again. Hence, it’s crucial for us to secure our candidates with jobs that will further their careers, suit their skill sets and make them happy in their working environments. Thank you. Richard Vickers, Regional Managing Director.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buena
Diseñador Gráfico (Current Employee) –  Hospitalet de Llobregat, BarcelonaFebruary 3, 2018
Lo mejor de Michael Page como diseñador gráfico es que no se hacen horas extras.
Lo peor es que se valora más los conocimientos técnicos que la creatividad
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and outdated metrics
Recruitment Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2018
Benefits and PTO tend to very generous, but certainly expected to work a lot of hours to feel like you deserve it. If you do not see the results, expect a lot of scrutiny. If you do well, the leash is loosened. If you work 10+ hour days and don't bill, you are labelled as a non-intense lax worker. Culture is competitive and performance-based, and can be immature and petty. Senior Management will call you out, humiliate you, and use fear tactics to get you to perform. Managers are those promoted within based strictly on revenue targets, proving to be good at sales, but lacking in any unique management style and knowledge of employee motivation and morale. Trickled down fear tactics from senior management are the norm.

Some managers can be better, some people can be easier to get along with than others, if you perform and see results, there are plenty of incentives and generous bonuses and rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 2Report
Official response from Michael Page
January 18, 2018

PageGroup operates as a traditional sales organization, and as such, we find a performance-based culture to be effective in yielding the results we strive to attain. The job of a Recruitment Consultant is not for the faint of heart as we have high performance standards and there are consistently new challenges to be faced on a daily basis. With that being said, we have established an environment where our people are positioned to achieve success, and our management team works tirelessly to motivate, support and help each person maximize his or her potential. While our Managers certainly incorporate idiosyncratic leadership styles tailored to their teams, recruitment will always be a results-driven industry, and we never shy away from conveying this message. Thank you. Richard Vickers, Regional Managing Director.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Junior rrhh
Consultora- Assistant. . FUNCIONES (Former Employee) –  BarcelonaJanuary 12, 2018
Fue una experiencia enriquecedora pues pude aprender de la selección de profesionales según los sectores profesionales así como de técnicas de motivación de equipos.
Pros
Ambiente internacional
Cons
Salario
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Michael Page. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 156 reviews
539
449
329
214
125

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture