Meltwater Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work for career progression, personal development and culture, though not for the faint-hearted
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater LondonApril 11, 2019
I was hired into the London office right out of university, holding a degree unrelated to Sales; since starting, I've been continuously supported and guided by my managers and director. The corporate culture is ideal for anyone who is looking for a place of work that they're not rushing out of by the end of the day.

Definitely not for the faint-hearted - expectations are high and the work itself is dynamic and fast-paced, although management are always keen to help and support both from a professional and personal standpoint.

One thing I've struggled with is work/life balance due to the robustness of the role - work hours can indeed be long in the first months, but the culture of the company definitely encourages finding that balance.

Perfect company to work at for anyone who is ambitious, driven and has a solid sense of humour; you will be recognized for your achievements and as long as you give it your all, you'll build a solid career at Meltwater.
Pros
Management, culture, career path
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and leadership
Sr Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 9, 2019
This place s a joke. Management have no clue how to run the dept. It's unreal how unprofessional the people that work here are. They don't help you in anyway. It is all about taking and no receiving. It is a buddy system. If you are new hire, there will be no guidance. This is the worst place!
.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BYOC - Build Your Own Career
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater ManchesterApril 8, 2019
A progressive, ambitious company striving to achieve. If you're prepared to work hard you'll shape the career you desire with no glass ceiling to stop you; full of opportunity and diversity.
Personal health and development is encouraged alongside business development. An enjoyable place to work!
Pros
People, culture, opportunity
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant place to work
Client Account Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater LondonFebruary 20, 2019
Having been with the company for just over two years. It's been a fantastic experience. Key points being, promotion of internal staff, constant support and guidance, culture & the best thing of all, the people.

If you wish to work for a very ambitious company with some of the best people you'll ever meet, look no further.
Pros
Salary/Bonus, Career Progression, Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, CardiffFebruary 19, 2019
Really welcoming and supportive environment! Lot's of progression and room to grow.

You speak with a variety of industry professionals on a daily basis. Because of the nature of the role, there's lots of networking opportunities.

Would recommend if you're looking for a fun and challenging role!
Pros
Culture!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great role to develop all-round business acumen and kick-start career!
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  CardiffFebruary 19, 2019
Meltwater has been a positive experience overall.

After joining from University, I wanted to find a role where I could quickly develop my CV, skills and pay off student debts.

The role is fast-paced and you get out of it what you're prepared to put it but then you will be rewarded highly for it.

The day-to-day is a mix of introductory calls and then developing cases with C-Level Executives which is a valuable business skill I've learned.

Outside of work, you are required to 'prospect' which can take up personal time but will ultimately lead to a better work day and pay.

After two years in the company, I've had the chance to travel internationally with Meltwater, develop management skills and all while enjoying the ride!

Meltwater is an exciting company with great opportunities, a winning culture!
Pros
Salary/Commission, International opportunities, career progression, culture
Cons
Work outside of work-hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I simply loved working at Meltwater
Managing Director (Former Employee) –  London, Greater LondonFebruary 19, 2019
Growth, Development and the People!
Part of the international management trainee programme.
In 2 years progressed from Sales Consultant to Sales Manager and then to Managing Director. Key standout is that they only promote internally. I particularly enjoyed the international opportunities, having travelled to many different cities and countries.
I spent 4 years at Meltwater and I look back at it as the fondest time in my professional career. Its a hard working, past paced environment but if you're ambitious, apply yourself and stick to it you'll be successful.
Pros
Promotion from within, Accelerated Growth, International Opportunities & Earning Potential
Cons
Monthly Targets, Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with potential for career progression
Client Acquisition (Current Employee) –  London, Greater LondonFebruary 19, 2019
This is a great place to work if you're looking for career progression and prepared to work hard.

There is a strong culture and the support is given if you need it.

You can earn a lot of money as a young person and end up being down a strong career path in sales.
Pros
People, money, travel
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great progression
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  London, Greater LondonFebruary 19, 2019
Meltwater provides an environment where you can really learn the ropes of business, sales and leadership. It's tough, as all sales roles are so its not for everyone, but you are 100% rewarded if you work hard. They really care about people progression, so if you are looking for a company with personal growth potential then Meltwater is a great choice.
Pros
Working with like minded people every day, OTE is easily achieved, progression is quick.
Cons
Work life balance can be hard. Sales and account management is tough so prepare for some hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
De beste start van je carrière
Management Trainee (Current Employee) –  AmsterdamDecember 5, 2018
Je leert ongelooflijk veel over jezelf in korte tijd. Bij Meltwater ben je direct verantwoordelijk voor hele processen in veel verschillende sectoren. Je bent in contact met uiteenlopende contactpersonen bij evenzoveel verschillende bedrijven. Heel erg leerzaam aan het begin van je carrière. Als je je bijdrage levert verdien je ook uitstekend. Bovendien is de sfeer met je collega's super, je doet veel dingen samen. Heel geschikt voor ambitieuze mensen die willen bouwen aan een snelgroeiend bedrijf.
Pros
Snel leren en groeien.
Cons
Dingen kunnen snel veranderen en de druk is soms hoog, daar moet je mee om kunnen gaan.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Senior Business Development Representative (Former Employee) –  londonNovember 19, 2018
Meltwater is a fun place to work, great culture and working atmosphere - speedy career progression. For anyone seeking a career in sales i cant recommend it enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Client Acquisition (Former Employee) –  London, Greater LondonNovember 7, 2018
Great working culture for those looking for fast progression.

Management ensured that you had flexibility, as well as full support when needed. It was a pleasure to work there!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management letting down the company
New Business Sales (Current Employee) –  LondonOctober 29, 2018
Poor management has meant that talented people are flooding out the door of Meltwater. In the last 12 months approx 50% of the work force has left. People promoted based on Sales and not on actually being able to manage people.
The Salary structure/Commission structure is terrible. They pay way below the inductry standard. The way the commission structure works you can still earn £0 commission even when your on target.
No extra benifits at all
Work life balance doesnt't exist.
If you don't worship the Area Director you will be seen as negitive and not a culture fit. The company is turning into a frat house cult. If you aren't out there and loud you will not succeed even if you are a top seller.
Pros
People I work with are great
Cons
Management, Pay, Culture, Work life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 26, 2018
It's unreal how unprofessional the people that work here are. Similar to a cult, if you don't sip the juice, you don't belong. They want your friends to ONLY be Meltwater people so when they ask you to work until 10pm you won't feel like you're working.
Pros
none
Cons
immature management, low pay, long hours, cut-throat sales environment, terrible processes
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-pace, fun work place
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  ShanghaiSeptember 6, 2018
vertical management with strong support for newbies.
great culture to support day-to-day work
fast-track career development
self-driven ability required
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and opportunities; TERRIBLE work/life balance.
Client Success Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 11, 2018
Great place for college graduates to get a feel for the industry and make money. Fun culture. Absolutely NO work/life balance. Very high turnover. Very little support from management.
Pros
Paid for outings. Options to relocate.
Cons
Work/life balance. Management support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not one good thing to say...
CS (Current Employee) –  Dubai Free ZoneJune 16, 2018
Long working hours, Not nearly enough pay. Job titles that don't mean anything (literally half the office are managing directors). After the first few days, there's nothing new to learn. Horrible software, I don't know how they fool clients into buying it. Office environment is all about hypocrisy. Overall, it's better to be unemployed than to work here.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to accelerate your career, look no further!
Client Success (Current Employee) –  Sydney Central Business District NSWMay 22, 2018
Meltwater is a company that does many things differently. We hire based on potential rather than experience, we promote based on merits, rather than tenure and our culture is second to none and I mean it. Our company values - fun, number 1 and respect - guide us through everything we do and the way we operate.
If you want to be challenged, learn something new every day and be coming to a fun place surrounded by like-minded individuals this is the place to be!
Pros
Culture and values, quick career progression, every day learning, awesome product that is easy to sell, flat structure
Cons
Can't really think of anything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero Work Life Balance
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 6, 2018
Management does not promote work life balance. Talk about company culture but in reality no one is happy there. Sales in churn and burn, struggle to keep employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced sales job
Senior Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaFebruary 22, 2018
fast paced sales job, great first job to learn sales skills. Full sales cycle which is great for an intro level job, opportunity to close deals even as a new person
Pros
Snacks
Cons
hard selling
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Meltwater. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 42 reviews
514
410
39
22
17

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.0Culture