Indira Gandhi National Open University Employee Reviews

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 38 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
part time Academic Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Lucknow, UTTAR PRADESH, INDecember 3, 2018
The work place is nice but salary package is low. The behaviour of every person is good, it is very nice place to do work. The fee criteria is low for students so they can easily join the different courses here.
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun!!
Radio Jockey (Former Employee) –  Coimbatore, Tamil NaduJuly 31, 2018
As long as it lasted it was great fun!! Also learnt a lot from the seniors and the others around. Did it part time. Also a little money did not hurt anyone !!
Pros
Part time
Cons
Not much money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy-going and tension free job
Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Kolkata, West BengalMay 20, 2018
It's purely part time job I do. As a post-retirement assignment I find this job quite satisfactory. For a person looking for full time engagement this is not a good option.
Pros
for a retired person it's encouraging
Cons
for a person looking for adequate salary it's not the right choice
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nutrition Educator
Counselor (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiApril 10, 2018
I only worked part-time on guest lecturer basis for two years. It was good. work culture was collaborative and calm. I had to leave the job because of relocation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time job
COUNSELLOR (Current Employee) –  INDIANovember 21, 2017
Only on sundays the classes are held and we enjoy a lot with our students who are willing to learn and have come from far off places only to attend the class.The hardest part of the job is when the students do not receive their study material.Its very tough to find out the current year assignments and how to go about it
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Classes happen only on sundays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience, learned many things
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Darjeeling, West BengalOctober 11, 2017
Working with ignou had gave me good experience.
The hardest part of the job was to complete certain work under dateline that was given too short period.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
JAT (Junior Assistant) (Former Employee) –  Itanagar, Arunachal PradeshOctober 4, 2017
Really working in IGNOU was a very great experience, every thing in that Institution was perfect, I wish to work in IGNOU Regional Centre Guwahati, its been a honor working in IGNOU.
Pros
Increment after every 6 months
Cons
Less job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
ERP support, training and team management (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiOctober 3, 2017
ERP (People soft/Oracle) was implemented when I joined IGNOU and we were the team of People soft from the side of IGNOU. We worked with TCS team and provide functional training to IGNOU's all other employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company and Great Environment
Assistant IT Supervisor (Former Employee) –  indiaSeptember 4, 2017
Challenging work
Great environment to work
Motivating and encouraging team leaders
Management is also good
Great company for freshers to learn and grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy throughout the working hour
Assistant Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Gangtok, Sikkim study centre 2401March 29, 2017
Working in ignou allows one to get exposed to many new subjects , also intersecting with candidates regarding their wueiry and solving it makes one busy throughout the day.
Pros
none
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Apex Body for Distance Learning in India
Associate Professor - Reader (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiMarch 6, 2017
It is an apex body for distance learning in India and offers various courses in India and abroad. It comes under the ministry of human resources of Government of India
Pros
A repute center for DL
Cons
Yet to cover nationally
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting workplace
Software Faculty (Current Employee) –  Yamuna Vihar, DelhiMarch 2, 2017
1.enhanced skills and knowledge
2.supportive management
3.most enjoyable work
4. learn different methods of increasing work performance
5. loving atmosphere
Pros
supportive staff
Cons
sometimes work overload
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Junior Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vadakara, KeralaDecember 2, 2016
Overall, a very good experience working with the team.Got to study more about the office and the system followed in an Govt. office. The staff was very much coordinating and helping each other.
Pros
weekends leave
Cons
Long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IGNOU center is for BCA and CIT classes mostly on SAT and SUN with excellent education record.
Administrative Center Head and Program In-charge (Current Employee) –  Delhi, DLDecember 27, 2015
IGNOU is established by the Act of Parliament 1985 of Govt. Of India. It has over 3million students. Our is the programme Study Centre IGNOU 0763P for the graduation course BCA and IT certificate course CIT which are internationally recognised. Working in IGNOU is for persons interested in social working for educating Indian students by Open and Distance education. Our centre is under IRMED, a NGO at Delhi. The centre is known for it's quality education and dedication towards students. I am proud to be a part of this Centre.
Pros
Works on sat and sunday.
Cons
At a very low monthly salary like 4, 500 pm.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Academic Faculty (Former Employee) –  Ghaziabad, UPSeptember 29, 2015
It was good experience with ACS. My co-workers are very appreciating and supportive.

I have learned lots of patience and attention to detail.
Pros
enhance my knowledge
Cons
no scope for promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
silence workplace
Computer Assistant (Current Employee) –  kalpakkam<chennaiApril 16, 2015
extra skills medical coding (icd 10)
I like to do medical coding.
I am doing part time job in IGNOU.
I am a hard worker.
I am experienced at computer.
exam time.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project trainee
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Vadodara, GJMarch 6, 2015
I was just a project trainee at this work place. We were working in a group of 4 people and i was leading the team. It was a great experience working with knowledgable people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exp
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Kottayam, KLFebruary 11, 2015
I have experience in the field of full time professor, teacher in C.B.S.C. Schools, B Sc Nursing College, International School in Al-Jubail Saudi Arabia and Guest Lecturer in various Colleges in Kerala
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  DelhiJanuary 27, 2015
I have learnt so many things from there. There motivational themes and like others. But there is one problem is about salary and conveyance. Its too long to go or reach at office
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place workplace with quite environment.
Junior Consultant (Current Employee) –  New Delhi, DLJanuary 4, 2015
Generally day at workplace starts normally. Reaching office at 8.30 in the morning, working in the Lab. store and leaving at 6 o'clock is the daily schedule. I started my work in IGNOU in 2013 and have learned store management and to keep all the entries updated in the respective stock registers. My co-workers are very helpful, I enjoy working with co-operative and well mannered co-workers everyday.
Cons
Contract based job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Indira Gandhi National Open University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 38 reviews
514
418
36
20
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture