Indian Railways Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Train Driver (Current Employee) –  MumbaiJune 14, 2018
Good to work in Indian Railways and interested in working in gulf and European countries . Plz inform the vacancy in Ethihad Railway And Transfer Railway
Pros
Yes
Cons
Full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and productive
Intern trainee (Former Employee) –  Visakhapatnam, Andhra PradeshJune 12, 2018
Great place and fun place to workout for where we can have the best of services to the organisation and give the best of output to the organisation . Fun atmosphere , great working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
TECHNICIAN GRADE (Former Employee) –  Chennai, Tamil NaduApril 25, 2018
Excellent place to work ,and nice atmosphere ,production oriented ,,technically great place to work and people are nice and friendly,and employees are awarded
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usual working is unproductive
Senior Section Engineer / Electrical (Current Employee) –  New Delhi, INDIAMarch 23, 2018
Working in Govt sector has made me to seek for new job due to its style and future prospectus.I wanted to do something extraordinary in my field , but I couldn't.Woking hard is my nature, but sometimes I feel no use of that hard work.Hardest part of my job when I feel I m not able to perform to my capacity.Most enjoyable part of the job is the security which is definitely there.
Pros
Nothing to mention
Cons
Haphazard sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well secured job
Junior Engineer (Current Employee) –  jabalpurMarch 22, 2018
since this is the first job i find it exciting but slow progressive rate of growth and not much good management, but the job is well secured with handsome salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  West BengalMarch 20, 2018
• Rolling Stock Maintenance & Overhauling (Wagons & Coaches)
• Crew management
• Contract Management
• Train Operations
• Accident Site Rescue & Restoration
• Mitigation of Online Rolling Stock failures
• Derailment Investigations

So the job has both technical as well as managerial aspects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Systems Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chennai, Tamil NaduJanuary 10, 2018
Very relaxed and will get excellent exposure to newer technologies and also free hand to try whatever you want. Though worked long hours there was absolutely no pressure at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non exciting and not updated
Junior Engineer in Kharagpur Railway workshop (Current Employee) –  Kharagpur, West BengalJanuary 4, 2018
Those who want a moderate salary and boring life style then go for railway. The work culture here is very poor and you can not expect help from your superior authority and you have no real power to act against your subordinate staff.
Pros
Good starting salary and job security
Cons
Very old technology used and very bad work culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central railway carriage workshop
Internship Training (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraDecember 29, 2017
It was a very great experience while working in indian railways, in the whole training I got most of the useful knowledge regarding the local train and express. It provides an opportunity to learn under a different environment. Thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place is Good & Contractual Job
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Fortune Tower, Bhubaneswar, Reginal OfficeDecember 18, 2017
- Day to day work is good
- I learned what Govt. Offices work and the procedure.
- Work place is Good and Fun
- Nothing is hardest part of the job.
- Most enjoyable part of the job new work on daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Raliways-Points Man (Former Employee) –  Jodhpur, RajasthanDecember 4, 2017
It was good working with Indian Railwys.
Good working experience.
Not so flexible with festive leaves.
Issue with getting willingful postings
Unhygienic railway quaters.
Pros
Cooperative
Cons
Not flexible with leaves, no festive offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indian Railways Profession is a Great Feeling
Jt.G.M/Fin/Expert , Rail Vikas Nigam Limited (Current Employee) –  HyderabadNovember 30, 2017
Indian Railways is a very big Governrnent Organisation with 14 to 15 lakh employees and officers with various facets of work experience and qualifications . It is a pleasure and dignity too in working with Indian Raiwlays.
Pros
Medium level prospects with job security
Cons
low level promotional channels and talent is not that considered for promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
General Fitter (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraNovember 18, 2017
I was with Indian Railways for 15 years. I had my apprentice ship with Railways and qualified as a Fitter. The team work was great. I learned the skills of a general fitter.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
tecnician (Current Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraNovember 15, 2017
From the joining I'm enjoying my work. This is great experience . I'm learning lots of new things and enjoying my job but there is salary is for now days expenses. So I'm trying to get part time job.
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied.
Customer Service Executive (Former Employee) –  IndiaNovember 8, 2017
Nothing in particular to say. It is a government institution with national interest as the public career. Caters to the needs of millions of passengers daily. Work culture was satisfactory.
Pros
Government service
Cons
Government Service
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
technical work
JUNIOR ENGINEER (SIGNAL) (Former Employee) –  all over karnatakaOctober 26, 2017
great organisation to serve the people
interlocking skills on signaling systems and team management
management responds very well
challenging work place as it is outdoor in remote places
growth rate is low
fixing the issue in circuits which was enjoyable to me
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly presitgious government organization
IES Officer, Class I (Former Employee) –  Hubli, KarnatakaOctober 19, 2017
Indian Railways is India's largest civil organization and a senior level job in Indian Railways is a prestigious job. Right from the begining one is like CEO of his own area. Huge independence and freedom to take decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning environment
Trainee Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ajmer, RajasthanOctober 8, 2017
I went there for Vocational Training which completed in 6 months. I learnt a lot technicalities there. The environment was so pleasing. i learnt there the whole functioning of electrical locomotive engines.
Pros
Free lunches and breakfast and the staffs were so supportive.
Cons
northing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious job
Senior Section Engineer (Current Employee) –  Nagpur maharashatraOctober 2, 2017
Working atmosphere as per yourself management. Everything required to connect with suitable is code for confirmation. Site of work are more away from resident some times specialy in rain it is very difficult to reach site.
Pros
No free lunch.
Cons
Working hours not fixed, may be upto 24 hours as per site condition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Interesting place to work
STUDENT INTERN (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiSeptember 12, 2017
It was a great experience working there as i got to know the working way of Indian railways. There I was told about the working of database, networking, charting and ticket reservation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Indian Railways. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 175 reviews
581
458
331
24
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture