H&R Block Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice management
tax advisor (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraSeptember 4, 2017
It was enjoyable to work with H&R Block.
Learned the tact to deal with your client.
Management was very good, each things were appropriate as it was needed.
hardest part was nothing as such because I know how to handle the hard, harder and hardest things.
Interaction with different kind of clients with different types of queries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy Environment
Tax Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraSeptember 1, 2017
Monotonous work but very healthy environment at workplace, Effective management & very supportive to employees, good place to learn effective communication skills,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New company for Indian Market
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, KarnatakaJuly 24, 2017
Good work culture, get to meet lot of people across country. Management supports well and takes good care of employees. Learn about taxation world and the ever changing scenario.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Seasonal Tax Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraJuly 12, 2017
Best place to get practical experience of Filing of Income Tax returns of an individual. I learnt how to communicate with the clients and got the training of soft skills. Overall management of 600 employees is good and appreciable.
Workplace culture is excellent. Every week company conducts employee engagement activities. And hence its a fun workplace and improve interest and motivation .
Hardest part is to deal with angry clients and most enjoyable part of the job is lunch time as well as activities conducted by their HR.
Pros
Culture
Cons
work load at month ends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly efficient work culture
tax advisor (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraMay 24, 2017
it was very good, company rightly balances the work load and fun activities. Corporate has very good management. It provides seasonal employment of 2 to 3 months every year.
Pros
free break fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and decent workplace
Seasonal tax advisor (Former Employee) –  Kormangala, KarnatakaMay 1, 2017
It's a well suited job environment for the female candidates specially!
Work pressure is just seasonal and moderate work experience.
Good place to learn the tax application
Pros
Working hours
Cons
Cold War
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very efficient and energetic work environment
Tax Consultant (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraApril 20, 2017
i have great experience working with this company. employees are considered assets for company. leaders and others provide learning. also competition is created to get the max out of a person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great workplace with tremendous opportunities
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  IndiaApril 18, 2017
One of the best corporate set up that I have worked with. In this kind of environment, you will only love your job. Open door policy, great work culture along with work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmospher
Seasonal Tax Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraApril 18, 2017
I learned to interact with client in English. Workplace was fantastic
Senior management was helpful. I learned intax software for salary returns filling.
Pros
Company provided us free dinner at extra working hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has a good working culture but a strictly one. Company focuses on punctuality
Tax advisor (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraMarch 22, 2017
Good company to work with as it value it's customers and employees.
The company provides training to the new recruits with the same enthusiasm as they serve their clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for
Senior Executive (Current Employee) –  Viman Nagar, MaharashtraMarch 19, 2017
Will get to learn lot of things. You will get exposure to explore your abilities. You are allowed to have innovative ideas. The only thing lacks here is transparency and communication between manager and subordinates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivates employees to work better.
Tax advisor and team leader (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraFebruary 3, 2017
Good training and exposure.They introduce different perks to motivate employees and appreciation is given when target is achieved.
Pros
Good management and working environment
Cons
Only income tax of individuals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In Search of SemiQualified Chartered Accountant
Tax Consultant (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraNovember 10, 2016
Cleared my CA final second group with exemption in Indirect tax. Required job in Pune. Worked for two tax seasons as tax advisor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning platform
senior tax advisor (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, KarnatakaAugust 5, 2016
good place to work. management is interactive. learning environment.
direct client interaction. normal office hours. saturday working.
Pros
learning platform
Cons
lack of supervision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and good learning opportunity
Executive Content Writer L&D Team (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, KarnatakaJuly 16, 2016
H&R Block has provided me a wonderful experience. Each day at work I learned new skills and it helped me to grow in my career. Co-workers in US also supported me and groomed me according to the need of my profile. I always loved the kind of job that i'm doing and have given 100% dedication towards the task that was assigned to me.
The only drawback I would say is the flexibility at work. They do not allow us to have flexibility in working hours nor allow us to do work from home. Especially a mother like me find it very difficult to work in such odd timings.
Pros
Transport facility was provided
Cons
Odd working hours 2p.m to 11 pm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job security
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  mumbai, IndiaMarch 6, 2016
Very nice job security, lot of projects to work on, Good learning growth but Compensation and benefits are less. Minimum Compensation given, growth is very slow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Exposure
Tax Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pune, MaharashtraFebruary 12, 2016
Company having very good culture. Best for freshers.Good exposure for professionals.Friendly environment. Many things to learn link communication etiquette, presentation , how to work in a pressure, conceptual clarity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work place with continuous focus on employee growth
Tax Manager (Former Employee) –  PuneSeptember 8, 2015
Performing the duties as a tax manager for the entire branch including serving clients by demonstrating the technical expertise, managing staff and client allocation between staff, handling cash inflow and outflow, business development, handling client escalations etc.

Learned to manage the client expectations long with meeting staff requirements. Learned to entirely handle the office - day to day working as well as growth and development planning.

Learned to handle team. Learn to work with other functions like finance, admin, etc closely.

Management was amazing. The focus was more on employee training as well as growth.

The entire work atmosphere was amazing.
Pros
Lot of flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good working culture
Seasonal Tax Advisor (Former Employee) –  PuneSeptember 4, 2015
Awesome work experience and good team atmosphere. I recommend the organisation for new starters. Individual taxation is very good to start your career in direct taxation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work along with Fun
U.S Tax Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, IndiaOctober 12, 2013
The experience was really great. Work no matter how challenging it got, the co workers were always open to discussions.The management was very approachable and we all shared a friendly yet a professional bond.
Pros
Great work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H&R Block. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 7,461 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.0