Foreign & Commonwealth Office Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Senior Project Manager, Oracle ERP Multi-Agency (Former Employee) –  LondonNovember 13, 2018
Well recommended. Great team and location with significant job satisfaction. The most enjoyable part of the job involved multi-agency collaboration. Thank you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied Job with Lots of travel for work
Tehnical Support Officer and Logistics Planner (Current Employee) –  CundinamarcaAugust 21, 2018
My day can vary from simple office admin, to irregular working hours, to emergency jobs and visits to offices in my region (South America and Carribean)
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fue una bonita experiencia
IT Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Panamá, Provincia de PanamáJuly 11, 2018
un departamento de IT muy organizado con muchas cosas buenas.
Pros
seguro, buen salario
Cons
breaks un poco cortos
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't join for the money
Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  Milton KeynesJuly 2, 2018
Need I say more than the title. You won't get promoted quickly nor will you be recognised for your efforts. The work place is too bureaucratic and you have to climb over so many hurdles to do the simplest things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and innovative organisation
Division Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater LondonJune 13, 2018
Hard working and innovative organisation, that seeks to improve through listening to staff feedback and suggestion schemes.

Diverse workforce representative of the community it serves.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Work/Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxxx
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Hanslope ParkMay 28, 2018
Very fun kept active doing many activities good workplace and offers lovely refreshments such as free water would definitely work here again if given opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working culture..
Expenses Clerk (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, BuckinghamshireMay 16, 2018
Team is very good. Enjoyed thoroughly working there for about 5 years. Very good balance work and personal life. The manger and colleagues used to like to work with me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civil Service
Expenses Team Administrator (Former Employee) –  Milton KeynesApril 24, 2018
Good job security but pay has been heaverly eroded over the last few years. There are no bonuses or perks.
Promotion is slow and very complecated.
working hours per week are 37. You can work anytime between 7:00 and 18:00.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
low pay and increases
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good place to work. Get to work with other government departments across the world. Work in different departments to learn new skills and ex
office assistant (Former Employee) –  PakistanMarch 16, 2018
This is a good place to work. Get to work with other government departments across the world. Work in different departments to learn new skills and extremely rewarding.
Pros
good
Cons
nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad energy and environment/ Fraud with hiring people. People not hired with qualifications
Entry clearancw assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, GautengFebruary 5, 2018
Worked as seasonal staff@UKVI & the treatment is bad, there's a lot of fraud with hiring people, its not about UR work but about which manager likes U
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Working Environment
Trade Policy Officer (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, GautengOctober 3, 2017
Staff get fired so easily they have a high staff turn over and the working environment is toxic and sick. Worked there for 6 months and nearly landed in a hospital. Its a very racist environment the company is not diverse and black people are meant to feel as though they are stupid and incapable of making decisions.
Pros
good salaries
Cons
racism, poor line management, no training provided to staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General administrative support (Former Employee) –  London, UKJune 21, 2017
This is a good place to work. Get to work with other government departments across the world. Work in different departments to learn new skills and extremely rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a part time job i went there once a week.
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GautengMay 13, 2017
The management team was great and the people i worked with it was fun they made sure i was comfortable always. My payment was very little with no incentives it was tough but I pulled through and everytime i got payed went to checkers to see what i can get with that money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 21Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Occasionally interesting work but awful pay and management, very political.
Vice Consul (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 14, 2017
A very hierarchical organization. Most colleagues are there to do the least amount of work they can. Poor work culture, highly political.

The work can be exciting and interesting. Generally, poor managers but there can be exceptions.

Pay for junior staff is poor, even in high-cost locations. Very dangerous set-up with the IRS that can severely damage U.S. individuals, the Brits won't defend your interests.

Foreign Office diplomats can be very interesting but self-serving. Not good business people or business analysts.

Fairly secure job security rating, but most don't stay very long.
Pros
International trade & relations. Ability to meet people.
Cons
Poor management, driven by volatile political demands. Low pay, tax/IRS liability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 58No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, awful pay
Legalisation Officer (Current Employee) –  Milton KeynesJanuary 9, 2017
Lovely people and the job wasn't bad either. However, the pay is terrible (being a Government post), and I found that I was struggling to pay my bills, so time to move on.
Pros
Flexi-time
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High reputation
Interpreter and Translator (Former Employee) –  Basra, IraqDecember 10, 2016
I was so proud of my work as interpreter for the 'FCO' office back in Iraq following the 2003 war.

It gave me great favour to rehabilitate my life and find my goals. It was really the one I can clearly say taught me thousands of life lessons.
Pros
Massive advantages
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current Position
Regional Contract Manager (Current Employee) –  EuropeMarch 6, 2016
I have responsiblity for the delivery of Hard and Soft services for the FCO within APAC and Europe. Management of stakeholder relationships and budget responsibility. Development and review of KPI's and SLA's. Audit management and completion, man management, contractor management of TFM contract.

Working in a good environment with good co-workers. The hardest part of my job is delivering messages to stakeholders which are not welcomed. The most enjoyable part is stakeholder relationships and variety of work.
Pros
Luncheon Vouchers, Bonus, Medical Cover and Pension
Cons
Lack of progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of changes in the past 7 years otherwise pretty good employer
Test Manager/Senior Software Tester (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, ENGJanuary 18, 2016
Flexible hours for permanent staff which is good, and, support for further education if permanent staff which is also good. Seems to be lots of contract staff about who have been there a very long time, but, quite a reasonable bunch to work with.
Pros
Variable work load. Can be interesting working with other Gov.Dept's.
Cons
Advancement can be slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Program Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 7, 2016
Good place to start, but limited opportunity for growth. They don't take taxes out of your check so you end up in trouble with the IRS at the end of the year and end up in debt.
Was this review helpful?Yes 89No 21Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn a lot
Communications Manager (Current Employee) –  TunisSeptember 20, 2014
Working with IWPR you learn about research and various matters that affects people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Foreign & Commonwealth Office. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 21 reviews
57
47
34
21
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture