Community College of Rhode Island Employee Reviews

Showing all 79 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication and leaderhsip
Academic Advisor (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, RIAugust 20, 2019
The four campuses do not communicate well at all. The current leadership is clueless. Also, because of the union,non-union job promotion system, many department heads are NOT qualified for their positions or well trained. Part-time employees are treated horribly! This is not the place to work, if you you have a strong work ethic and want to support students!
Pros
none
Cons
bad leadership, communication, application process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Community College of Rhode Island
ESOL Instructor (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, RIApril 4, 2019
The Community College of Rhode Island is a great place to start if you are searching for part-time work in your area. There are three campuses in Rhode Island.

The management and people seem to often change though which make job security in this line of work a bit of a concern.
Pros
Independence
Cons
Uneasy boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker
Student Worker (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Newport, RIApril 1, 2019
I was only a student worker while at CCRI and I regret the way I let my 'manager' pretty much use me. I was there to work for just the department, which was itself easy. However, there were many times that she didn't have anything for me to do for the office, so she would give me tasks that were not part of my job description. She would do this rather than letting me study like she said I could when I was hired.

It's a good job if you need money, which I did at the time, but don't get your hopes up about having a livable paycheck. As a student worker, you're paid less than the minimum wage, so it's good for pocket money at best.
Pros
Good for a little spending money or save up for a school book
Cons
No healthcare, barely any study time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cook Server (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIFebruary 8, 2019
I enjoyed working for the college i enjoyed meeting all the different people. learning the cultures and sharing our food recipes. my manger showed me how to make a lot of different foods I really miss that place but I hated cleaning the grease trap on Friday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a little busy
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIDecember 27, 2018
•Answering phone calls regarding admission questions and financial aid
•Collecting paper work that’s needed to complete the admission process and financial aid
•Scanning and filing
•Translating when needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Classrooms
Adjunct Physical Geology Professor (Former Employee) –  Providence, RINovember 29, 2018
Rooms are very well equipped with projector, TV, cameras, webcams, and other media.
Technical staff is very cooperative.
Parking is very easy and efficient.
The campus is small but well planned.
The food court has plenty of healthy options.
Pros
Parking ease
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INformative
DESKTOP SUPPORT (Current Employee) –  Warwick, RIOctober 5, 2018
Great place to learn and grow as an individual. Flexible schedule if in school. Entry level position if you're looking to break into the help desk environment,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment.
Retail Store & Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Warwick, RIJuly 31, 2018
I thoroughly enjoy the diverseness of the customers (students) and being there to assist in their educational needs to reach their goals every semester. It is a very fast paced and fun environment to work in. The back office responsibilities are individually accounted but supported by the team on a whole. The team at CCRI Bookstore is a great group of professionals to work with.
Pros
Great co-workers, fun environment, nice schedule, no weekends
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Assistant Professor of Nursing, Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Newport, RIJuly 27, 2018
Truly enjoyed working at CCRI. Great faculty, staff and students. Nursing program is very strong and students do well with NCLEX. All faculty are dedicated to the education of students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive place to work
AV Technician & Help Desk support (Current Employee) –  Warwick, RIJuly 12, 2018
Great entry level AV job. You'll learn a lot working here. There are people always willing to assist you. The hours are flexible in case you are in college.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working while studying
Studio Lab Manager (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIJuly 8, 2018
I was a student, so after or before my classes I would go to work at the school studio lab. It was pretty cool, taking care of the equipment and at times tutoring some other students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warwick Campus - CCRI
Computer Lab Monitor (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIJune 26, 2018
answer questions from faculty staff on where certain things are located or questions on how to use software on the computers, print documents or Hours of operation
Pros
Flexible working hours, student help on shift
Cons
Pay per hour, windowless room to work in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Lots of interesting people.
Assistant Baseball Coach (Former Employee) –  Warwick RIJune 26, 2018
As a baseball Coach I do not interact with a lot of people at teh college but the people I do work with are always interesting and and good people to work with .
Pros
good hours and a nice place to work
Cons
salary is a little low and sometimes tough to get things done without permission.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community College of RI
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIJune 16, 2018
I worked in enrollment services and financial aid where I assisted students through the financial aid and enrollment process. I also assisted student with scheduling classes and submitting their FAFSA on line
Pros
Scheule
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, school, and social life balance
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIJune 11, 2018
Calm environment. Typically cleaning and maintaining a safe space for others to do work. Computer savvy individuals and people with excellent customer service skills are great to work here.
Pros
Relaxed work space, Convenient location
Cons
Short hours, Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supported collaboration. Open to new, yet grounded, ideas. Accessible IT department, very helpful. Team work was lucrative and encouraged. The deans a
Professor/LMS/Mentor/Instructional Designer (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIMay 21, 2018
Supported collaboration. Open to new, yet grounded, ideas. Accessible IT department, very helpful. Team work was lucrative and encouraged. The deans and HR are affable and open to discussion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours very flexible
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, RIMay 3, 2018
They work around your class schedule, making it very easy to work when it was most convenient for you. Very helpful and happy people to work with. Great environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work study
Work Study Student (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, RIApril 27, 2018
My typical day at work would consist of making sure everyone would sign in and everything is good. The only thing that would get to me is that we are only eligible to work 16 hours for two weeks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a lab assistant at CCRI
Biology Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIApril 2, 2018
While working as a lab assistant at CCRI; attending college was very rewarding. I acquired many hands on laboratory skills working for the campus and would recommend it to any other student entering the biotechnology field.
Pros
Gained a lot of experience working in lab.
Cons
Only being able to work 10 hours a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little guidance
Professor (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, RIMarch 7, 2018
thrown in with a sink or swim attitude, if you've been there before you learn to manage. No help if you're new. Students blame you when they fail and have little more than high school study skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Community College of Rhode Island. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 79 reviews
535
428
310
22
14

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

Community College of Rhode Island Reviews by Job Title