CDM Smith Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphere
Independent Consultant (Current Employee) –  Maharashtra, ChhattisgarhMarch 23, 2018
I learned a lot and still learning, I wish to work with CDM Smith for long. I worked on Maharashtra Project wnd currently working on Chhattisgarh Project (National Highway Projects). If given an opportunity I can assure you I will contribute a bit from my side.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance but less incentive
Automation Engineer (Level 3) (Current Employee) –  Chennai, Tamil NaduAugust 21, 2017
worked as instrumentation engineer for more than 5 year, management was so not hard. good work life balance. No internal politics. Totally depend on US project for work
Pros
on time salary, good work life balance
Cons
bit less package compared to market
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Independent Engineer (Former Employee) –  Tirupati, Andhra PradeshAugust 3, 2017
Good working Skills in the Field of Materials and working for NHAI is gainful to my Future Endeavors, Good Colleague and Friendly Nature, Moreover working in Home town gives me much Pleasure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun work place
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Ludhiana, PunjabJuly 27, 2017
As manager I managed various tasks of an organization. I had responsibilities of operational & HR level. I had responsibilities of maintaining company records.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Intern Architect (Former Employee) –  Thiruvananthapuram, KeralaJuly 19, 2017
A productive and friendly environment to work in. I got to improve my ability to connect with people and to work with them. I got a first hand experience on how the client meeting proceedings go.
Pros
Saturdays and Sundays are off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company for highway and transport project
Utility Engineer (Former Employee) –  Villupuram, Tamil NaduMay 25, 2017
Good company for highway, Bridges and all kind of transport project all your india. they are doing good quality and time pried also followup as per program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
support Engineer
Working as a support engineer in CDM SMITH (Former Employee) –  Jammu, Jammu and KashmirMarch 27, 2017
Activities Performed: Working as Civil Engineer is responsible for overall construction supervision of Substations and other Civil Works in this project in Jammu as per working drawings, contract management, checking of alignment, reinforcement checking as per bar bending schedule, quality control and quality assurance, approval of formwork and staging, coordinating testing of material and concrete mix, coordinating record of measurements, issue site instructions, certification of bill for the contractor etc
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start the carrier
Internship Programme (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, KarnatakaJune 28, 2016
Its really a good place to start the carrier as a structural engineer. I have learned lot of things being a part of the "CDM Smith Consultants"
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning with Joy
Intern (Former Employee) –  Hosur, Tamil NaduMay 9, 2016
I was just an intern, but all the engineers over there were very helpful and friendly. Learned a lot within 30 days as well as enjoyed those days working over there.My first exposure on highway engineering, learned the basics on material testing,bridge construction,culverts and pavements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAD Engineer (Roads)
CAD Technician (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, KarnatakaMarch 7, 2016
I am working as a Junior Engineer and CAD Engineer in Various Road DPR Projects and Irrigation Projects. and prpearation of Quantities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company
Senior Engineer - Quantity surveyor (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, KarnatakaFebruary 15, 2016
In CDM Smith i learned how to do Detailed Project report of Highway Projects. very Friendly atmosphere, Good Nature around the Company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, KarnatakaFebruary 12, 2016
Looking for better opportunity to work in different place, team and clients. Interested to work in international projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having experience in Account and other activities
Manager Accounts (Current Employee) –  Hubli, KAJanuary 15, 2016
Having 23 Years of experience in the field of Accounts, Administration, Export/Import, Shipping, Terminal, Production, Sales Tax, Central Excise, Customs, Construction and Consultancy. Having experience in setting of new terminal/company, taking permission from relevant authority such as Ministry, Secretary, Urban Development, Revenue, Pollution Control Board, Fire & Emergency, CRZ. Maintaining account up to Finalization under group summary with relevant software, capitalizing the expense, CENVAT returns, procurement of raw material for production and export purpose. Also having experience in Civil and mechanical construction line.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical specialties
Transport Planner (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, KarnatakaDecember 22, 2015
Has one years and six month of professional experience in various fields of Transportation planner and worked on several projects involving transport modeling, estimation of highway traffic diversions and forecasts, fixation of traffic and transportation policies and strategies for urban areas in India, ridership estimation and viability analysis for various mass transit options, transport infrastructure planning for Indian cities etc. Experience of using various planning software’s including CUBE,VISSIM, and Transyt state-of-the art travel demand modelling softwares.
Major Projects handled include planning, feasibility and ridership estimation for of Chennai Metro Three corridor studies and Chennai Metro Master plan studies and Elevated corridor study in Chennai from Chennai Airport to Chengulpattu, traffic forecast studies of Toll plaza studies like Walajapet - Ponnamalle Toll Plaza and Soma ISOLUX Toll Plaza in NH 1 & 2, and Delegated Fright Corridor Study etc. design of BRT systems. Major tasks performed including network identification and finalisation of field survey plans, design of survey questionnaires, organization of various traffic surveys, analysis of traffic survey data, development of toll strategy for highway traffic forecast studies, development of basic network and base data like creating zone, attributes and nodes in Cube model for the metro projects and preparation of technical reports and presentations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good working environment enhanced by the presence of skilled professionals and team work
Deputy General Manager-Highways (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, KAJuly 10, 2014
A day starts with the review of the critical issues in the project, risk identification and the ways to mitigate the risks and address the issues. Special attention was made in mentoring young professionals.

Learned more on the systematic ways of supervising the construction and managing projects

The Management identified the skills and integrity of employees and took into consideration of their opinion in all phases of the Project.
Co workers were experts in their respective fields and formed a good team.

The hardest part of the job was in balancing the needs of clients who often demands changes in scope which leads to additional cost and time.

The enjoyable part of the job is in every moment as there was a good communication and team work. But, the most rewarding moment is delivering services to the Client's satisfaction with out compromising the Organization's interests.
Pros
Compensatory off days for extra hours at project site
Cons
Managing projects in remote areas where the ameneties for living are below standards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun workplace
Manager (Admin) (Current Employee) –  Ludhian (Punjab)July 10, 2014
When i was join this company then i think i am not do this job more than two or three months but when time passed i made friends not senior and junior. After that every thing going well.

When we join a new company everywhere new peoples, new environment and it is challenging to accept these things.
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
Eight Hour duty time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more CDM Smith reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CDM Smith. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 175 reviews
563
454
336
218
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture