British Council Employee Reviews

Found 110 reviews matching the search See all 664 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Invigilator (Former Employee) –  hyderabadSeptember 18, 2019
The job though is competitive its really fun to work where we can communicate with lot of people from different places and cultures.It is a friendly environment .we can get help from others if we are confused without hesitating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning, good work ethics
Teacher of English (Former Employee) –  Government school at palam, New DelhiSeptember 7, 2019
Great company, provides good training, good salary, employees are quite approachable with helping attitude, communication with the employees is also good.
Pros
Get a good environment to work
Cons
If you work for a project, you don't have a regular job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous place if you just want to just stay
Manager (Former Employee) –  NoidaAugust 29, 2019
I wish other in the technology had been as passionate about work as the MD himself, HR is good and helpful.
The management in the technology doesn't know technology and that is the biggest problem most of them should have been in HR or related fields.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very pleasant atmosphere for work
Freelance Invigilator (Current Employee) –  Anywhere in IndiaAugust 21, 2019
The British Council provides a very good platform for young professionals to develop their career and also provides a very good remuneration package with food work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time Management
Examiner Planning (Former Employee) –  Gurugram, IndiaAugust 20, 2019
Workplace and work culture was truly professional and excellent.
Managing and executing all functional activities and preparing excel reports to meet quality targets and handling PAN India travel planning and operations for IELTS examiner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
CELTA Tutor Assistant (Internship) (Former Employee) –  Kolkata, West BengalAugust 15, 2019
This was the best internship. It was easy job of collating data in excel and also helping teachers when there was summer school for kids. I was part of Celta and it was wonderful working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trains you to take care of minute details
Senior teacher (Current Employee) –  DelhiJuly 21, 2019
It is a privilege to work with British Council as you learn to be objective and specific in achieving your goal in the given time .You are observed and supported by your seniors all the time .
Pros
Punctuality
Cons
Extreme punctuality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Invigilator (Former Employee) –  Gurgaon, HaryanaJuly 15, 2019
Best opportunity for education for gain some different knowledge great atmosphere staff.great office senior are good...everyone are helpful part time jobs are also available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pathetic work atmosphere, by design there is micro management
Manager Accounts (Current Employee) –  Noida, Uttar PradeshJune 25, 2019
Pathetic work atmosphere and culture. So much of micro management that you start to feel like you are in jail. Extremely unorganised management and disguised hierarchy. Do a complete check before joining and the take this big risk of switching
Pros
Yet to find one
Cons
Micro management and disguised hierarchy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with no so good management.
Sr. Executive (Former Employee) –  NoidaMay 24, 2019
Good company with no so good management. too much of politics.
Micro management is the major concern over here, you can never guess ,who takes your work credit behind your back .
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment.
Venue Manager (Former Employee) –  Punjab, INDIAMay 17, 2019
British Council provided me a great platform to do job with. It was my pleasure to work with such an esteemed company. I wanted to pursue my further study that is why i left the job.
This job taught me how to work in a team, and over all management.
Pros
Free lunch, tea. increments, flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in but has its pros and cons related o job security.
IELTS (Freelancer) (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraMay 9, 2019
British Council is a great place to work in and has ample of scope for growth for its employees but it has its own pros and cons when it comes to job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
event management (Former Employee) –  Jalandhar, PunjabApril 25, 2019
It houner to work with British council.great environment. excellent management system. Number 1 in discipline. All the work is done with systematically.invizilator were very good and polit. Every one is very helpful
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive - waste of time.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  IndiaFebruary 21, 2019
I was a 'teacher' at a school in India for a five month placement. Was a waste of time - did not achieve anything. The staff at both the school and BC didn't know what to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  ChennaiFebruary 9, 2019
Freedom to express, Great work culture, Supportive Management, Flexible shift hours. The only drawback is the pay structure. If they need to retain top notch talent, they really ought to look at the compensation policy.
Pros
Great work culture
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Regional Head, North India (Current Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiFebruary 2, 2019
It is a great place to work and the benefits are many.A work culture which is completely British with a wonderful emphasis on work life balance of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
weird company if you want to time pass then join
Not Disclosed (Former Employee) –  Gurgaon, HaryanaJanuary 29, 2019
I was in the Gurgaon office, its very neat and clean and beautiful office in a big and beautiful building.
No sense of purpose and no sense of direction in the company, the top management is not concerned about the employees they are also doing time pass. my HOD used to break company policies and verbally threatened me. If you are married female and want to do time pass then join.
Pros
Good work life balance
Cons
no meaningful work, no sense of direction, no sense of purpose, stupid HR and stupid boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at workplace
Support Consultant (Current Employee) –  Delhi, DelhiJanuary 23, 2019
Amazing experience working with the British council. I am more than happy to work with this organization. I started to work with the British council 3 years back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent and a good place to work
exam invigilator/customer service (Former Employee) –  PunjabOctober 29, 2018
British Council is the United Kingdom's international organisation for cultural relations and educational opportunities.working with BC for a long time giving me good contacts and less stress. but how to manage the things i learned from BC. Rest we usually get both hardest and enjoyable part in any kind of job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  IndiaOctober 18, 2018
Great team to work with, Lovely peers
Immense learning
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 664 reviews
5334
4204
391
223
112

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture