British Council Employee Reviews

Found 96 reviews matching the search See all 574 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive - waste of time.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  IndiaFebruary 21, 2019
I was a 'teacher' at a school in India for a five month placement. Was a waste of time - did not achieve anything. The staff at both the school and BC didn't know what to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Regional Head, North India (Current Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiFebruary 2, 2019
It is a great place to work and the benefits are many.A work culture which is completely British with a wonderful emphasis on work life balance of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
weird company if you want to time pass then join
Not Disclosed (Former Employee) –  Gurgaon, HaryanaJanuary 29, 2019
I was in the Gurgaon office, its very neat and clean and beautiful office in a big and beautiful building.
No sense of purpose and no sense of direction in the company, the top management is not concerned about the employees they are also doing time pass. my HOD used to break company policies and verbally threatened me. If you are married female and want to do time pass then join.
Pros
Good work life balance
Cons
no meaningful work, no sense of direction, no sense of purpose, stupid HR and stupid boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at workplace
Support Consultant (Current Employee) –  Delhi, DelhiJanuary 23, 2019
Amazing experience working with the British council. I am more than happy to work with this organization. I started to work with the British council 3 years back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent and a good place to work
exam invigilator/customer service (Former Employee) –  PunjabOctober 29, 2018
British Council is the United Kingdom's international organisation for cultural relations and educational opportunities.working with BC for a long time giving me good contacts and less stress. but how to manage the things i learned from BC. Rest we usually get both hardest and enjoyable part in any kind of job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  IndiaOctober 18, 2018
Great team to work with, Lovely peers
Immense learning
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great opportunities to excel
Senior Manager and Manager Finance positions (Former Employee) –  INSeptember 25, 2018
I had an excellent experience working at the British Council. I had a steep learning curve that resulted in me moving from an executive level to senior manager level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Loving and Friendly culture
Senior Executive (Current Employee) –  Noida, Uttar PradeshSeptember 16, 2018
I am working with British Council from last 1 year its been pleasure working in this fun loving environment and Friendly team member.
Learning is great and focused area of organisation for employee.

Thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Exam Invigilator (Current Employee) –  PunjabSeptember 8, 2018
I suppose not to disclose or share or comment anything regarding my job profile with British Council as per the instructions and rules of the organisation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrator Officer (Current Employee) –  Chandigarh, ChandigarhJune 12, 2018
British council is employee satisfaction company.Management and work culture is fine .All the staff members are very supportive and the teamwork are always is commendable,
Pros
Good company and individual exposure
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work and good atmosphere.
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chennai, Tamil NaduJune 10, 2018
Working in British Council is a great opportunity and to gain plenty of knowledge. Greater atmosphere that u feel very comfortable with the place and people.
Pros
Discount on classes
Cons
Costly canteen...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and learning enviornment.
Invigilator (Current Employee) –  PunjabMay 5, 2018
In British Council you learn a lot of things as an Invigilator. It includes:
Team management that how you can work in a team. British Council also provides opportunity to act as a Team Leader.
Pros
Free Lunch, Tea, water etc
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
BRITISH COUNCIL AS A HR COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiApril 22, 2018
British council is a good place to learn new things in life. The work & life balance is very good. I worked their way back but even today admire the times I spent working in British council.
Pros
Good Working atmosphere
Cons
Contractual timeline is too short
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organisation
Invigilator (Current Employee) –  Mumbai, MaharashtraJanuary 26, 2018
Good work opportunities
Worldwide presence
Good working environment
Organised company
Attention to detail
Good staff
Organised work environment
Equal opportunities for everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impossible timings
Freelance invigilator (Former Employee) –  KarnatakaDecember 9, 2017
Work as a freelancer only if you have superhuman powers. Required to keep standing for hours on end as if it is a punishment. Hardly any breaks given even if you want to visit the toilet. Very generous lunch break of 7 minutes is given!! Very much guaranteed to end up with Diabetes and knee problems soon after joining. Receiving salary is another huge issue that needs constant follow-up. Still havent received one year old salary!
Pros
Free food
Cons
Unhealthy work environment and practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A comfortable work environment
Senior Digital manager Arts (Current Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiNovember 13, 2017
British Council is a safe and comfortable environment to work in with good job security and good colleagues. However, for someone who is new in the work routine, British Council can make you complacent and you need to constantly know how to stay ahead of the curve by discussing with your Line Manager the best ways to improve your efficiency.
Pros
Nice and comfortable
Cons
can make you feel too laid back at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
TEST DAY INVIGILATOR (Former Employee) –  Hyderabad, ANDHRA PRADESH, INNovember 11, 2017
Day starts with a warm and nice briefing about the complete day, the job roles and individual duties that need to be performed all the day.
the day rushes with the full speed and ends in a peace way
Pros
food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Intern (Current Employee) –  Noida, Uttar PradeshOctober 9, 2017
I love working here
The environment of working in British Council is very good for fresher and experienced both.
All collogues are very helpful.
I love this organization
Pros
Sodexo meal vouchers
Cons
9 hours shift only
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fin loving place.
FreeLancer job (Former Employee) –  Amritsar, PunjabSeptember 24, 2017
It was a freelancer job so we were not that much involved in a working activity. Rest everything was fine there, good place to learn. Coworkers are quite cooperative in the company.
Pros
Less load
Cons
not so far
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment,
Operations Executive (Current Employee) –  Gurgaon, HaryanaSeptember 20, 2017
Friendly working emvironment
Less salary
Less incentives
Good surroundings
Comfortable work
Good balance between personal and professional work
Many food outlets
Pros
Balance between work and personal life
Cons
Less salary, No cabs
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 574 reviews
5289
4180
376
221
18

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture