Ministry of Defence Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central Government organization
Medical Officer (Former Employee) –  Srinagar, Jammu and KashmirSeptember 20, 2017
A Central Government organization - provides handsome pay for a medical officer( post MBBS, as compared to any civilian organisation). Good canteen and health care facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and secured job with lot of scope to learn and update our knowledge. Can Help people in need.
Sr Admin Officer (Former Employee) –  Andaman, Andaman and Nicobar IslandsMay 26, 2017
Enjoyed the job Nice environment to work and good peers to guide
An enthusiastic and challenging assignments pay packages and working conditions are good
Pros
Good career elevation, perks and facilities. Five days a week worki.
Cons
Frequent transfers disturbs family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Serve Nation
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiMay 24, 2017
It is a great place to work and serve nation. I consider my self fortunate and lucky enough to had opportunity to work at this place.
I being Short Service Commissioned officer had to leave after contractual agreement, that why left the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is learning
JRF (Former Employee) –  Chennai, Tamil NaduJanuary 20, 2017
work is learning ,new technology are used .people are friendly.freedom in work.team work is applied in every project .testing is strictly involved
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proper Workplace
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  DelhiDecember 29, 2016
I am hardworking. By working on computer daily my computer knowledge has increased. I prepare Notice Inviting Tender, and e-tender work, etc. Working staff is good.
Pros
No big targets
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a way of life
COLONEL (RETD ) (Former Employee) –  Delhi, DelhiDecember 4, 2016
Great going ,experience of a life time ! Every day one had to face new challanges and take decisions which would affect human beings.Had to think out of the box to succeed.
Pros
Human interface
Cons
restricted career growth !
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bel bangaluru
Taking apprentice under BEL (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, KarnatakaNovember 5, 2016
Bel is very good company.. i have learned most of the thinks there how to communicate with employees, customers and our colleagues and all official work just like letters, notice, SAP etc.. BEL management is very good they provided time to time there services like transport, lunch,salary etc... A typical day at work when i go to 1st time for taking a Hindi class of employees who learned and write in Hindi language...its most typical as well as enjoyable part of my life
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proudctive and deeply analytical work
Director (Current Employee) –  DelhiAugust 7, 2016
• Analyzing defense equipment procurement proposals of armed forces from the technical, operational and strategic relevance aspects and provide inputs for better equipment acquisition
• Participating in project management teams of two defense ICT projects requiring design and development of 4G/LTE and microwave communication and IT network
• Analysing industry proposals/ complaints, specific inter – services and policy issues from MoD, providing feedback and recommending way ahead
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assisting in Inventory (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DelhiJune 25, 2016
Productive and challenging work place.Required patience and tanacity to work in adverse working conditions.

Learned to work as team and how to act in life threatening situations like flooding and fire
Pros
service to nation
Cons
Frequent Transfers
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well educated working experience
Major and Deputy Director (Former Employee) –  Most of stated in India and Jaffna (Srilanka)December 7, 2015
Highly Motivated co-workers , willing to die for the nation characters least self interested community worked for the safety of the nation
Pros
excellent opportunity to learn more culture
Cons
missed family life to some extend
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring but secured
Junior Translator (Current Employee) –  New Delhi, DLNovember 14, 2015
Its already understood what it really means when u work in a central gov office. its the most secured and safe job in this fast world of recession.

The management is supportive and i have learned a lot regarding the nature of my job here..especially in the field of translation and Official Language implementation.
Pros
the most secured job in the country.
Cons
LETHARGY- the common problem in every govt office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Upper Divisional Clerk (UDC) (Current Employee) –  New Delhi, IndiaMarch 14, 2015
Very busy day at work always..faces new challenges..adaptive and friendly management and co-workers. The hardest part of the current job is to increment cycle.
Pros
Flexible timings
Cons
No transport facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 57No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive service and fun wok place
Administration, General Management (Current Employee) –  PortBlair, Andaman Nicobar, IndiaFebruary 26, 2015
Best work place.
Learned Complete managerial activities.All HR Management, Marketing Management, Financial Management.
An all round managerial activities like hospitality admin, Hotel, Camp management, financial accounting, auditing, procurement, etc.,etc.,
Performed as Administrator of supervisory level.
Learned cooperative managerial technique.
The hardest part of the job is nothings.
Pros
In GREF/GREF we are given free Mess, Food, Furnished accommodation, free electricity, water, Ltc, medical, transport facilities, Games, Entertainent
Cons
We are ready to work 24 Hrs when ever required. But the weekly working hours is 43 hrs per week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Govt Job
Joint Director (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DLJanuary 9, 2015
Govt Job at the Ministry. Very challenging and bureaucratic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thoroughly enjoyed the job/ s in any assignment with win-win. Faced many toughest situations but enjoyed the risk even. Worked with men and machinery
Senior Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Kochi, Mumbai, VisakhapatnamOctober 31, 2014
Worked hand to hand with disciplined Armed forces. Learn a lot, to do and no to do. Witnessed, worked and enjoyed hard conditions. Ensuring efficient Services to mankind within the stipulated rule limits is really a challenging task that was accomplished like cat walk. Highest Award by the Supreme would forever cherish the memories. Frequent transfers disturbed domestic front but achieved well rounded personality with views and meticulous approaches. Facing toughest assignments turned the body and mind tough and sensitive too. Love to work in any environment. No conditions, no clauses and no limitations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Place
Web Developer (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, DLJuly 1, 2014
I Learned to how to manage 250 user.
I Learned how to manage the Server and LAN Network
and how to performs all the duties and responsibilities in a day.
and much more .
Was this review helpful?Yes 71No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work place
Junior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Jodhpur, RJJune 26, 2014
- Busy Schedule
- Technical and Management skill
- Poor Management
- Good co- worker
- Over load
- Working Off
Pros
free fooding and lodging
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and funwork place
Ex-Serviceman and Banking Service-Intermediate (Former Employee) –  All india and KolkataApril 8, 2014
Productive and enjoyable. Its an advanturous life with lot of enjoyment. One can see our country Kashmir to Kanya Kumari and seas and ocean, meeting all castes and creeds.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Adhikari (Subordinate Officer) (Former Employee) –  PAN IndiaMarch 13, 2014
I my full career I was deployed various appoints all over India. Enjoyed the full tenure and learnt various things. Many time I was deployed where the management work is required. My co workers are very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Middle Level Manager
Chief Shiwright Artificer (Former Employee) –  Visakhapatnam, APJanuary 11, 2014
Its a balanced work where one has to take the responsibility in multi dimensional environment and get the tasks liquidated with full sense of safety,responsibility.
Pros
Free Accommodation, Free Ration, Free Medical Care
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ministry of Defence. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 357 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9